The Society of Petroleum Geophysicists (SPG) held it's 2nd Conference & Exposition on Petroleum Geophysics - SPG'98 at Chennai, India during Jan 19-21, 1998. The Theme of the Conference was "Roads to the Future: Challenges & Opportunities in Hydrocarbon Exploration." The event brought together Geoscientists from the world over to deliberate Emerging Challenges in Hydrocarbon Exploration & Exploitation and help to solve the existing problems in the industry.

About 500 delegates attended the confererice and more than 25 E & P companies gathered to show the latest technology available for geophysical data acquisition, processing and interpretation.

The Conference was inaugurated by Hon'ble Minister of State for Petroleum & Natural Gas, Govt. of India, Mr. T.R.Baalu Mr. Prabir Sengupta, Secretary, Ministry of Petrelum & atura Gas, Govt. Of India, was the Guest of Honour. Shri Bikash C.Bora CMD ONGC & Chief Patron of SPG presided over the function. Shri T.K.N.Gopalaswami, Director (Exploration), ONGC & Patron of SPG and Mr.S.Rutt Bridges, President, SEG, Tulsa, USA delivered keynote address. Sri C.P.Saha RD, SRBC, ONGC welcomed the delegates. Mr.A.G. Pramanik, President,SPG addressed the gathering and appraised the role of SPG in organising such conferences. Mr.Kharak Singh, Chairman. Conference Executive Committee gave the theme address and stressed on the challenges and opportunities available to the petroleum industry.

Mr. S. Rutt Bridges, President SEG stressed the importance of proper data management in the years to come. He cautioned the E & P Industry about data volumes getting increasingly larger and difficult to handle with the present day scenario. Massive storage devices and data compression techniques are the two key areas in which, he expects, significant developments to address to the exploding data management problem. Mr. A.G.Pramanik, President SPG stressed the role of the Indian (E & P) Industry and National Oil companies after the NELP (National Exploration Licensing Policy) and the Navratna Package of Government of India, comes into force. He found a wide gap between "the curriculum of the Universities and what the industry requirements are.

The Secretary Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Govt. Of India, Shri Prabir Sen Gupta, IAS, stressed the need of SPG acting as a liaison between the academic/research bodies and Government of India so as to advise on the technological needs for the enhanced oil recovery needs of the country.

Ten technical sessions covering various aspects of Petroleum Geophysics In Exploration & Exploitation of hydrocarbon were conducted. All the sessions were chaired by eminent geoscientists from India & abroad. In total more than 90 papers were presented.

Pre-Conference trainings on Basin Analysis, Reservoir &. Development Geophysics and Well logging concepts, preceeded the main conference.

A Business interactive session was held under the chairmanship of Dr.K.R.Narayanan, an eminent Geoscientist and chairman of advisory committee to Directorate General of Hydrocarbons, Govt. of India, and attended by distinguished Senior level officers of sponsoring companies, eminent personalities from Universities and Govt. bodies. It was resolved that the challenges & opportunities in petroleum exploration can be addressed only with accelerated exploration. Geophysics has to play a major role in exploration of hydrocarbons, enhanced recovery, reservoir characterisation and reservoir management etc. Techniques like 3D/3C seismic surveys, time lapse 3D, rock physics and studies in collaboration with international experts in these fields will have to be used extensiviy and effectively to convert the challenges of the industry into opportunities.

The Society of Petroleum Geophysicists has instituted a Convention Gold Medal for the life time contribution in the field of Petroleum Geo physics in India. This year this distinction was conferred on Shri S.N.Sengupta, Ex Director (Geophysics), ONGC for his contribution In the field of petroleum geophysics in India. He is the Second recipient of this prestigious honour after Shri B.S.Negi, Ex-chairman, ONGC who received the first award in 1996.

The Conference was sponsored by Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), European Association of Geoscientists & Engineers (EAGE), ONGC, CGG, PGS, Paradigm Geophysical, Schlumberger, Halliburton, Indel-Davis Inc., Shell India, Silicon Graphics, IBM and Cairm Energy India Ply. Ltd.