4th Conference & Exposition on Petroleum Geophysics


The Society of Petroleum Geophysicists (SPG), India held its 4th conference & Exposition on Petroleum Geophysics 'Mumbai 2002' during January 7-9, 2002 at Mumbai. The conference was co-sponsored by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists(SEG), USA and the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers(EAGE), the Netherlands.

The theme of the Conference was "Creativity in Petroleum Geophysics-Road to Future" attracted overwhelming response from eminent geosdentists, Industry leaders and academia.

The conference was inaugurated by Shri Ram Naik, Hon'ble Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Govt. of India. Shri S.K.Gangwar, Hon'ble Minister of State for Petroleum and Natural Gas, Govt. of India and Shri J.M.Mauskar, Joint Secretary Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Govt. of India were the guests of honour. Shri Subir Raha, CMD, ONGC and Chief Patron, SPG presided the inaugural function.

Shri A.G.Pramanik, President, SPG in his address briefed about activities of the society since last conference which, interalia, include promotion of geoscientific education, excellence in technological advancement and growth of professionalism in India.

Honourable Minister Shri Ram Naik and Shri Gangwar appreciated the contributions of professional societies like SPG and called upon intenational geoscientific community to work closely with Indian E&P industry.

Shri Subir Raha, C&MD, ONGC and Chief Patron, SPG welcomed the delegates and assured the full support of NOC's such as ONGC to professional societies in achieving their goals. Mr. Walter Lynn , President SEG, reiterated the cooperation and support.

The exposition was inaugurated by Shri S.K.Gangwar, Honourable Minister of State.

The Theme Session was chaired by Shri Y.B. Sinha, Director (E), ONGC and Patron, SPG. The speakers were Mr. Walter Lynn, SEG President, Mr. Gary Jones, President Western Geco, Mr. Kharak Singh Executive Director-Asset Manager, Bombay High and Mr leon Thompson, EAGE distinguished lecturer.

The Conference, was attended by 1000 delegates from Indian and abroad.

More than 25 companies and other institutions involved in E&P business exhibited their technology and services. The technical program consisted of eleven technical sessions, two special session & poster session. A total of 140 papers were presented, of which 30 were invited papers by international experts.

Booths on the exhibit floor displayed products and technologies. Two Virtual Reality Centres were put by Landmark/Magic Earth & Shclumberger/Paradigm, which attracted the attention of everyone.

The convention gold model for life time contribution in Geophysics was awarded to Shri K.N. Bhave by the Chief Guest for his outstanding and pioneering work in the field of Petroleum Geophysics.

Two Pre-Conference training courses were organised on Jan 5th & 6th. First course on AVO was conducted by Brian Russel and second course was the EAGE/SEG DISC Program on 'Anisotropy' by Leon Thomson.

A press conference on Jan 6, 2002 was addressed Mr. Subir Raha, C&MD & Chief Patron, SPG, Mr. Walter Lynn, President SEG, Mr. Y.B.Sinha, Patron SPG, Mr. V.K.Sharma, Director (Offshore), ONGC, Mr. A.G.Pramanik, President SPG & Mr. Kharak Singh.

The second meeting of the South-Asia region of the Global Affairs Committee of the SEG was held on Jan 8th, 2002 at the conference venue, which was attended by representatives from Industry, National Oil Companies, professional societies & the Universities, Mr. Walter Lynn and Mr. Leon Thomsen also attended and expressed their views. Wide range of issues were deliberated in the meeting for strengthening co-operation between the society members across the geographical region.

Cultural evenings were also organised on the first two days, wherein the artists presented the glimpses of the rich India classical & folk music and dance.